Tourist Sites

Am Rhein

Throughout its history, Kehl has often been plagued by trouble. The landscape and architecture of the area often reveal clues about the relations between Baden and Alsace, in both peacetime and wartime. The buildings, squares and even streets have been faithful witnesses to the fascinating history of the city.
Join us for a tour of Kehl, discover the surrounding villages and learn more about the history of Kehl.
We also offer individual guided tours of Kehl, Straßburg and the surrounding area.

The blue trail

The blue trail: Go and discover the history of Kehl. A city tour takes you to buildings, monuments and churches which document the development of Kehl. In 2014, the City tour was completed with signs and blue footprints. Now you can start the tour on your own - just follow the footprints! The blue trail 

Passerelle des deux Rives

The Mimram Footbridge: In 2004, Kehl and Strasbourg together organized the Landesgartenschau, a regional horticultural exhibition. The Festival of the Two Riverbanks represented the first time this exhibition took place in two different countries, and a footbridge was built, for the occasion, connecting the French and the German sides of the Rhine. The bridge, open to pedestrians and cyclists, includes a 1000 sq ft platform at its center. The Parisian architect and designer of the bridge, Marc Mimram, wanted visitors to be able to enjoy the surrounding landscape and have the feeling of being part of one community. On the German side of the river you'll find a park covering more than a fifth of a square mile where you can enjoy the shade beneath hundred-year-old trees or stroll along the park lawns. Enjoy the promenade, running from the Villa Schmidt to the municipal swimming pool, which offers more than a half mile of beautiful views and sunshine.

The bridge is a symbol of peace in Europe and of cross-border cooperation. A number of heads of state, including Barack Obama and Angela Merkel, paid tribute to this bridge and its significance during the 2009 NATO summit.

Die Rheinpromenade

The Rhine Promenade: The promenade along the Rhine has always been a place where locals go to relax. Visitors can follow the river and explore its environment for several kilometers.


Villa Schmidt

The Villa Schmidt: This luxurious early-twentieth century home is emblematic of the comfortable lifestyle of the upper classes at the time. Listed today as a national historic building, the Villa Schmidt was built in 1914, according to the plans of Mahr and Markwort, on the foundations of the fortified railway bridge. Until 1944, it was occupied by Ludwig Schmidt and his wife Agnes, daughter of Ludwig Trick (one of the three managers of Kehl's cellulose plant). From 1945 to 1992, the Villa Schmidt served as headquarters for the French military administration. Today, it is open to the public as a restaurant.


The Silver-Fir Observation Tower: Built in 2003 for the Landesgartenschau, a regional horticultural exhibition, the silver-fir observation tower rises majestically above the south end of the old Rhine. The tower's inauguration took place on the opening day of the exhibition, and the silver fir was the official tree of the year. Two hundred and ten steps lead to a viewing platform at the top of the tower offering a stunning panoramic view stretching from the Black Forest to the Vosges mountains. The 150-foot tower weighs 70 tons and was designed by a working group from the neighboring city of Lahr. At its base are three large tree trunks from the Nordrach woods, given by the Federal Forestry Service) and the Silver Fir Forum. The tower forms an isosceles triangle and is reinforced by sheet metal. Tree trunks placed within the triangle combine to evoke a forest and represent another architectural element of the tower.


The Old Rhine: A vestige of a time past, when the river was not yet straightened and it wound through the countryside, the old Rhine has, today, become a green oasis within the city. Come stroll along its preserved banks, which include a promenade as well as two wooden platforms. A spot by the water is the ideal setting for all sorts of activities.


Rathaus Kehl

Historic City Hall: Originally serving as military barracks, Kehl's city hall was built in 1817, according to the plans of local architect Friedrich Arnold, a student of Weinbrenner. A year after the building's completion, a third story was added to accomodate the commanding officer's quarters. In 1869, the third story was removed for military reasons– it obstructed the view of the railway bridge from the church which served as a lookout tower.
After Alsace was annexed and the border redrawn following the Franco-German War of 1870, the barracks lost its strategic importance. Beginning in 1872, it housed a medical practice and a school. With the consolidation of the politically independent municipalities of the city and the village of Kehl in 1910, the building became the local seat of government. From 1921 to 1923, the architect Arthur Valendaire rebuilt the third floor and expanded the building, giving it a new wing. He also remodelled in the neoclassical style, adding a pediment supported by four columns. In 1999, during the most recent renovation, the building was painted a faded rose and a set of coats of arms were added.
The five coats of arms represented above the pillars refer to Kehl's different seigneurs throughout history (from left to right, the House of Nassau, the Münsterbauhütte guild, charged with building and maintaining Strasbourg's Cathedral, the House of Baden, the House of Bourbon, Lord Böcklin and Lord Böcklinsau). Three additional coats of arms can be found between the pillars (representing, from left to right, the village of Kehl, the union of the village and city of Kehl and the current coat of arms established in 1934.


The Rose Garden: Opening out onto the old Rhine, the rose garden is the perfect place for flower lovers. Modelled after the gardens typically found in cloisters or castles, it was entirely renovated the year that Kehl hosted the Landesgartenschau, a regional horticultural exhibition. Today, the rose garden offers peace and quiet all year long, and despite being only a few minutes from the pedestrian zone, is a place where you can escape the bustle of city center.



The Friedenskirche: After the Catholic and Protestant churches at the fort of Kehl were destroyed in 1793, a shared church was built, in 1817, at the west end of Market Square, on the Rheinstraße. When a renovation became necessary, both groups used the opportunity to push for having their own independent church buildings. The government of Baden, however, only allowed for the construction on one additional church. The architectural plans for the new church were drawn up by Friedrich Theodor Fischer, a student of Weinbrenner. The new church, built in the neogothic style, was inaugurated on 27 July 1851, after four years of construction. Today known as the Church of Peace (Friedenskirche), the church building was used by both Catholics and Protestants until 28 June 1914, when the Catholic community inaugurated the Church of St. John of Nepomuk.

Mutter Kinzig

The “Mother Kinzig” War Memorial: Built to commemorate the victims of the Franco-German War of 1870, the war memorial on Market Square was unveiled in 1905. It stands on the location of the former city hall, between the bistrot pavilion and the Tourist Information Center kiosk. The steel statue of “Mother Kinzig,” made by sculptor Xaver Reich of Hüfingen, had previously accompanied the statue of “Father Rhine” in adorning the 1861 Rhine railway bridge. In 1870, the bridge was partially destroyed and the statue of “Mother Kinzig” was lost to the Rhine. After many years of searching, the statue was found and became an integral part of the Franco-German War Memorial. Today, we are very lucky to still have this part of Kehl's history– during the First and Second World War, the statue of “Mother Kinzig” narrowly avoided being requisitioned and melted down for military purposes.

St. Nepomuk

The Church of St. John of Nepomuk: Built between 1911 and 1914, according to the plans of Johannes Schroth, the Church of St. John of Nepomuk was the first exclusively Catholic church in Kehl– until 1914, Kehl's Catholic and Protestant communities shared the Friedenskirche on Market Square.



The Villa Rehfus: Serving as both private home and business headquarters, the Villa Rehfus was occupied by the Rehfus family following the transfer of their hat workshop from the neighboring town of Lahr to Kehl in 1867. Carl Rehfus, the hat works' founder, and his son Carl Johann Rehfus-Oberländer were, between them, able to keep the family business going for almost a century. Production stopped in 1963, at a time when wearing hats was no longer considered fashionable. During the restoration of the “Kahllach” neighborhood (1967-1998), the Rehfus factory buildings were demolished, but the building housing the factory gate as well as the Villa Rehfus were preserved. Today the factory gate, located on the Fabrikstraße, houses a private residence and a café-bistrot. The Villa Rehfus houses several cross-border institutions


The Weinbrenner House: Built in 1816, the Weinbrenner House is today the oldest building in city center. Conceived by one of Baden's most well-known architects, Friedrich Weinbrenner, and his student Friedrich Frinz, the house served as a private residence and is one of the rare treasures to have survived Kehl's oft-troubled history. From 1886 to 1916 the Weinbrenner House served as quarters for the American consulate. Today, the Weinbrenner House is a municipal office building.


The Rhine Lowland Forest Nature Walk: Awaken your senses and come discover the Rhine Lowland Forest! This nature walk, located just south of Kehl, is nearly two miles long and is stroller- and wheelchair-accessible (except for the “Cherry Tree” path).
If you are interested in a guided tour or if you have any questions, requests or suggestions, please contact:

Kehl Environment Department
Tel: +49 7851 88-1195

Enjoy your hike!

Flyer of the Rhine Lowland Forest Nature Walk


Accommodation Search


Kehl Marketing · Rheinstraße 77 · 77694 Kehl · Tel.: 07851 88-1510 · Fax: 07851 88-1501 ·
Tourist-Information Tel.: 07851 88-1555 · Stadthallenvermietung Tel: 07851 88-1520